- Of 2,115.51 filled FTE faculty positions (including College of Medicine), 26.3% hold the rank of Professor, 18.2% are Associate Professors, 16.2% are Assistant Professors, and 39.4% are other faculty.
- The median age for tenured faculty is 54; the eldest of these is 84, the youngest is 31. The median age for tenure-earning faculty is 37.5; the eldest of these is 82, the youngest is 27.
- 95.1% of full-time, instructional faculty hold a doctoral, professional, or terminal degree.
- A total of 2,025 full-time (1,173 men and 852 women) and 515 part-time (234 men and 281 women) comprise Florida State University's staff whose primary responsibility is instruction, research and/or public service. Of these full-time staff, minorities make up 23.0% of staff members. 66.9% are white, 8.0% are non-resident aliens, and 0.7% did not report race.
- Ellen T. Zwilich (Music, 1983) and Robert Olen Butler (Fiction, 1993) are Pulitzer Prize winners on staff at Florida State University.

Members of the National Academy of Sciences to Serve on Staff at Florida State University

Lloyd M. Beidler, Biological Science	Robert Sanderson Mulliken, Chemical Physics
Donald L. Caspar, Biological Science	J. Robert Schrieffer, Physics
Paul A. M. Dirac, Physics	Melvin E. Stern, Oceanography
Zachary Fisk, Physics	J. Herbert Taylor, Biological Science
Lev P. Gor'kov, Physics	Gregory Boebinger, Physics (currently on staff)
Laura Greene, Physics (currently on staff)	Steven Stanley, Biological Science (currently on staff)
Louis N. Howard, Mathematics	Michael Kasha, Chemistry
Harold W. Kroto, Chemistry	

# Members of the National Academy of Engineering to Serve on Staff at Florida State University

David Larbalestier, Superconducting Materials (currently on staff) Simon Ostrach, Engineering Thomas Lipo, Engineering

#### Members of the National Academy of Medicine to Serve on Staff at Florida State University

Jill Quadagno, Gerontology (Emeritus) Barbara Culliton, Communication (currently on staff) Norman Anderson (currently on staff)

### Members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences to Serve on Staff at Florida State University

Roy Baumeister, Psychology (currently on staff) Lloyd M. Beidler, Biological Science Greg Boebinger, NHMFL (currently on staff) Donald L. Caspar, Biological Science Zachary Fisk, Physics Lev Gor'kov - *Foreign Honorary*, Physics Laura Greene, NHMFL (currently on staff) Louis N. Howard, Mathematics

### Frances James, Biological Science (Emeritus) Michael Kasha, Chemistry Alan Marshall, Chemistry (currently on staff) Simon Ostrach, Engineering J. Robert Schrieffer, Physics Melvin E. Stern, Oceanography Joe Travis, Biological Science (currently on staff) Ellen T. Zwilich, Music (currently on staff)

# Nobel Laureates to Serve on Staff at Florida State University

Konrad E. Bloch, Human Sciences James M. Buchanan, Economics Paul A. M. Dirac, Physics Harold W. Kroto, Chemistry Robert Sanderson Mulliken, Chemical Physics J. Robert Schrieffer, Physics

### John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellowship Award Winners to Serve on Staff at Florida State University:

1950 - Michael Kasha	1980 - Ellen T. Zwilich	2003 - David Kirby
1955 - Raymond K. Sheline	1983 - Michael Ruse	2005 - Dale A. Olsen
1957 - Orville Goodwin Harrold, Jr.	1993 - Robert Olen Butler	2005 - Mark Wingate
1958 - François Bucher	1994 - Jill Quadagno	2009 - Jawole Willa Jo Zollar
1961 - Louis N. Howard	1994 - Donald L. D. Caspar	2010 - Barbara Hamby
1961 - Arthur Deshaies	1999 - Kathleen M. Erndl	2010 - Ladislav Kubik
1964 - Bruno Linder	2000 - Richard L. Greaves	2013 - Bryan Cuevas
1966 - J. Robert Schrieffer	2002 - John Kelsay	2016 - James Kimbrell
1970 - Melvin Ernest Stern	2002 - Gary Taylor	2017 - Antonio Mendez Esparza
1974 - Bertram H. Davis	2003 - Thomas Joiner	2021 - 1021an Garcia-Roig

# Recent Fulbright Scholars to Serve on Staff at Florida State University:

2021-2022 - Jen Atkins, Communication & Information 2021-2022 - Jasminka Ilich-Ernst, Health & Human Sciences 2021-2022 - Carl Schmertmann, Social Sciences & Public Policy

Source: Office of Institutional Research; Office of Faculty Recognition