Eminent Scholar Chairs have been established to attract outstanding faculty to the Florida State University to provide excellence in teaching and research in a designated scholarly field. These Chairs are established through contributions from the private sector and matching funds from the State of Florida. As of July 2017, Florida State University had the following Eminent Scholar Chairs.

Department

## Eminent Scholar Chair

Ada-Belle Winthrop-King in French Bank of America in Finance (formerly Barnett Bank) Ben Weider in Napoleonic and French Revolutionary Studies Burt Reynolds in Regional and Professional Theatre Charlotte Edwards Maguire, M.D. Endowed Chair in Geriatrics Curtis Mayes Orpheus Chair in Musicology DeVoe L. Moore & Family for the Study of Critical Issues in Economic Policy and Government Don Fuqua in Engineering and Science Edward Ball in International Law Embarq in Engineering Eminent Scholar Chair in Family & Child Sciences Fannie Wilson Smith in Banking Francis Eppes Eminent Scholar Frank & Yolonde Fowler in Biological Sciences FSCW / Conradi Memorial Eminent Scholar George R. Langford Family in Arts and Sciences Gus A. Stavros in Economic Education Harold & Barbara Chastain in Real Estate Haywood & Betty Taylor in Business Administration Jerry Collins in Public Administration Jim and Betty Ann Rodgers in Medicine John & Hallie Quinn for Renewal of American Heritage and American Free Enterprise John R. Kerr in Marketing LeRoy Collins in Civic Education and Political Science Lucille P. and Elbert B. Shelfer in Music Marcus Bailey and Betty Graves Shelfer in Music Theatre Maximillian E. and Marion O. Hoffman in Theatre Patty Hill Smith in Finance Payne H. and Charlotte Hodges Midyette in Insurance Pearl S. Tyner Distinguished Professor Reubin O'D. Askew in Florida Government and Politics Richard W. Ervin in Law Rod and Hope Brim in Economics Ronald and Carolyn Hobbs in Statistics Sir M. James Lighthill in Mathematics & Computational Science Syde P. Deeb in Political Science Thomas L. Williams, Jr. in Information & Management Sciences Tobias Simon Chair in Public Law University Eminent Scholar Chair in Engineering William H. & Lucyle T. Werkmeister in Philosophy William H. & Lucyle T. Werkmeister in Philosophy William R. & Lenore Mote in Fisheries Ecology & Enhancement William R. & Lenore Mote in Marine Biology Unnamed Chair Unnamed Chair Unnamed Chair Unnamed Chair Unnamed Chair Unnamed Chair Wiley and Lucilla Housewright in Music Bernard F. Sliger in Engineering Joy S. Jinks in Community & Organizational Change Mildred and Claude Pepper in Social Gerontology Mina Jo Powell in Neuromuscular & Neurological Sciences SunTrust in Trust and Investment Management University Eminent Scholar Chair Vincent V. & Agatha Thursby

## Modern Languages Finance History Theatre Medicine Music Economics/Social Sciences Mechanical Engineering Law Electrical & Computer Engineering Family & Child Sciences/Human Sciences Finance Psychology Biological Sciences Psychology Classics Economics/Education Risk Mgmt/Insur., Real Estate & Bus. Law Management Public Administration & Policy Biomedical Sciences/Medicine Social Sciences/Economics Marketing Political Science Music Music/Music Theatre Theatre Finance Risk Mgmt/Insur., Real Estate & Bus. Law Dance Public Administration & Policy Law Economics Statistics Mathematics Political Science Management Information Systems Law Engineering Philosophy Philosophy **Biological Science Biological Science** Communication Communication Communication Information/Library Science Information/Library Science Information/Library Science Music Engineering Urban and Regional Planning Sociology/Aging Medicine Finance NHMFL. Visual Arts & Dance

## Person Filling Chair

Martin Munro James Ang Rafe Blaufarb Visiting - Heather Provost Ken Brummel-Smith Denise Von Glahn

Keith Ihlanfeldt Farrukh Alvi Frederick Abbott Jim Zheng Francis D. Fincham David Humphrey Roy Baumeister Peter Frasere Karl Anders Ericsson John Dillon James D. Gwartney Visiting – G. Stacy Sirmans Pamela L. Perrewe Richard Feiock Pradeep Bhide

R. Mark Isaac Joe Cronin Lonna Atkeson Multiple (17) Douglas Fisher Kevin Covert Yingmei Cheng Patricia Born Gerri Houlihan Frances Berry Amit Agarwal David A. Macpherson Deb Sinha Mohammed Hussaini William D. Berry Bruce Lamont Fernando Teson Lou Cattafesta Alfred Mele Michael Ruse Pete Peterson Visiting - Peter Edmunds John Mayo Marilyn Young Ed Worting Ronald Blazek Thomas Hart Jane Robbins Rotating Vacant Vacant Vacant Frank Kozel Vacant Vacant Vacant