# **Faculty Characteristics and Citations**

- Of 2,064.9 filled FTE faculty positions (including College of Medicine), 26.8% hold the rank of Professor, 18.7% are Associate Professors, 14.8% are Assistant Professors, and 39.8% are other faculty
- The median age for tenured faculty is 54. The eldest of these is 85, the youngest is 32. The median age for tenure-earning faculty is 39. The eldest of these is 83, the youngest is 27
- 95% of full-time, instructional faculty hold a doctoral, professional, or terminal degree
- A total of 2,074 full-time (1,188 men and 886 women) and 502 part-time (235 men and 267 women) comprise Florida State University's staff whose primary responsibility is instruction, research and/or public service. Of these full-time staff, minorities make up 25.4% of staff members. 65.5% are white, 7.9% are non-resident aliens, and 1.3% did not report race
- Ellen T. Zwilich (Music, 1983) and Robert Olen Butler (Fiction, 1993) are Pulitzer Prize winners on staff at Florida State University

## Members of the National Academy of Sciences to Serve on Staff at Florida State University

Lloyd M. Beidler, Biological Science

Donald L. Caspar, Biological Science

Paul A. M. Dirac, Physics

Zachary Fisk, Physics

Robert Sanderson Mulliken, Chemical Physics

J. Robert Schrieffer, Physics

Melvin E. Stern, Oceanography

J. Herbert Taylor, Biological Science

Lev P. Gor'kov, Physics Gregory Boebinger, Physics (currently on staff)

Laura Greene, Physics (currently on staff)

Steven Stanley, Biological Science (currently on staff)

Louis N. Howard, Mathematics Michael Kasha, Chemistry
Harold W. Kroto, Chemistry Abba Lerner, Economics

#### Members of the National Academy of Engineering to Serve on Staff at Florida State University

David Larbalestier, Superconducting Materials (currently on staff) Simon Ostrach, Engineering

Thomas Lipo, Engineering

#### Members of the National Academy of Medicine to Serve on Staff at Florida State University

Jill Quadagno, Gerontology (Emeritus)

Norman Anderson (currently on staff)

Barbara Culliton, Communication (currently on staff)

## Members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences to Serve on Staff at Florida State University

Roy Baumeister, Psychology (currently on staff)

Frances James, Biological Science (Emeritus)

Lloyd M. Beidler, Biological Science Michael Kasha, Chemistry

Greg Boebinger, NHMFL (currently on staff)

Alan Marshall, Chemistry (currently on staff)

Donald L. Caspar, Biological Science

Zachary Fisk, Physics

Simon Ostrach, Engineering

J. Robert Schrieffer, Physics

Zachary Fisk, Physics J. Robert Schrieffer, Physics
Lev Gor'kov - Foreign Honorary, Physics Melvin E. Stern, Oceanography

Laura Greene, NHMFL (currently on staff)

Joe Travis, Biological Science (currently on staff)

Louis N. Howard, Mathematics

Ellen T. Zwilich, Music (currently on staff)

## Nobel Laureates to Serve on Staff at Florida State University

Konrad E. Bloch, Human Sciences Harold W. Kroto, Chemistry

James M. Buchanan, Economics Robert Sanderson Mulliken, Chemical Physics

Paul A. M. Dirac, Physics J. Robert Schrieffer, Physics

#### John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellowship Award Winners to Serve on Staff at Florida State University:

1950 - Michael Kasha 1980 - Ellen T. Zwilich 2003 - David Kirby 1955 - Raymond K. Sheline 1983 - Michael Ruse 2005 - Dale A. Olsen 1957 - Orville Goodwin Harrold, Jr. 1993 - Robert Olen Butler 2005 - Mark Wingate 2009 - Jawole Willa Jo Zollar 1958 - François Bucher 1994 - Jill Quadagno 1994 - Donald L. D. Caspar 2010 - Barbara Hamby 1961 - Louis N. Howard 1961 - Arthur Deshaies 1999 - Kathleen M. Erndl 2010 - Ladislav Kubik 1964 - Bruno Linder 2000 - Richard L. Greaves 2013 - Bryan Cuevas 1966 - J. Robert Schrieffer 2002 - John Kelsay 2016 - James Kimbrell

1970 - Melvin Ernest Stern 2002 - Gary Taylor 2017 - Antonio Mendez Esparza 1974 - Bertram H. Davis 2003 - Thomas Joiner 2021 - 1026 in Garcia-Roig

#### Recent Fulbright Scholars to Serve on Staff at Florida State University:

2022-2023 - Christine Mokher, Education 2022-2023 - Ming Cui, Health & Human Sciences

2022-2023 - Tatjana Soldat-Jaffe, Arts & Sciences 2022-2023 - Ruby Lee, Business

2022-2023 - Perry Howell, Arts & Sciences

Source: Office of Institutional Research; Office of Faculty Recognition