Governing Boards - State University System

State Board of Education

The mission of the Board of Education is to increase the proficiency of all students within one seamless, efficient system by providing them with the opportunity to expand their knowledge and skills through learning opportunities and research valued by students, parents, and communities, and to maintain an accountability system that measures student progress toward the following goals: highest student achievement, seamless articulation and maximum access, skilled workforce and economic development, and quality efficient services. The eight-member Board, which consists of seven appointed members, plus the automatic inclusion of the Commissioner of Education, are:

Ben Gibson (Chair)

Ryan Petty (Vice Chair)

Manny Diaz, Jr. (Commissioner of Education)

Esther Byrd

Grazie P. Christine

Kelly Garcia

MaryLynn Magar

TBA 8th Member

Tallahassee

Neptune Beach

Key Biscayne

Tampa

Tampa

Tequesta

Online Resource: the website for the Florida Department of Education can be accessed online at: http://www.fldoe.org/

Florida Board of Governors

The Board of Governors is comprised of seventeen members, fourteen of whom are appointed by the Florida Governor and confirmed by the Florida Senate for a term of seven years. The remaining members include the Chair of the Advisory Council of Faculty Senates, the Commissioner of Education, and the Chair of the Florida Student Association. The Board oversees the operation and management of the Florida public university system's twelve institutions.

The Board of Governors are:

Brian Lamb (Chair) Tampa Naples Alan M. Levine (Vice-Chair) Manny Diaz, Jr. (Commissioner of Education) Tallahassee Amanda J. Phalin (Chair of the Advisory Council of Faculty Senates of Florida) Gainesville John Brinkman (Chair of the Florida Student Association) Gainesville Ashley Bell Barnett Winter Haven Aubrev Edge **Jacksonville** Carson Good Orlando Charles H. Lydecker Daytona Beach Craig Mateer Orlando Edward Haddock Orlando Eric Silagy Iuno Beach Jose Oliva Hialeah Ken Jones Tampa Patricia Frost Miami Beach Timothy M. Cerio Tallahassee TBA 17th Member

Online Resource: the website for the Florida Board of Governors can be accessed online at: https://www.flbog.edu/

Chancellor of Florida's Colleges and Universities

Raymond Rodrigues

Ray Rodrigues is Chancellor of the State University System of Florida. Prior to his appointment as Chancellor, Ray Rodrigues served as the Florida State Senator for District 27 which covers the majority of Lee County. Prior to his service in the State Senate, he was elected and served four terms in the Florida House of Representative. In his professional career, Ray Rodrigues worked 17 years for Florida Gulf Coast University (FGCU) where he held the positions of Director of Interagency Partnerships, Director of Community Relations and Business Manager for the College of Arts and Sciences. Ray Rodrigues previously worked a decade for a corporate component of General Electric where he managed their U.S. Import Compliance team.

Online Resource: Read more about the Chancellor online: https://www.flbog.edu/about-us/office-of-the-chancellor/chancellor/